Hat 56: Gharstly


Purple and turquoisey blue, with a bobble and earflaps

Clutter cunningly hidden behind giant knitting

So named because Joe was going on about Pokemon or some such at the time and commented on how nasty the colours were together. I kind of like the combination. Not that I would wear it, but I still like it.

In this photo, you can see the giant knitting I did on broom handles with strips of fabric for my one hour on the Fourth Plinth for One and Other.

I can’t believe that this one is the first I’ve done with earflaps! I did loads during my first year. So, I think this calls for a pattern.

ETA: So I have to do four tomorrow now. 🙂

Pattern

Knit your usual hat.

Pick up 6 stitches from your cast-on row. The hat will be upside down, with the outside/right side facing you.

Row 1: Knit 6. Turn the work.

Row 2: Purl 6. Turn the work.

Rows 3 – 6: Repeat rows 1-2.

Row 7: Knit 2 together, knit 2, knit 2 together. (4 stitches remaining.)

Row 8: Purl 1, purl 2 together, purl 1. (3 stitches remaining.)

Rows 9 – 22: I-cord (YouTube link). Knit 3, slide stitches to the other end of your circular or double-pointed needle. Repeat.

Row 23: Pull the yarn through really far on each stitch so you end up with really big loops.

Cut a long tail. Hold all the looooong stitches and the tail in one hand and tie a single overhand knot. Pull it tight and cut the loops. Trim to taste.

The second flap should not be exactly opposite the first – most hats have earflaps slightly toward the back of the hat. (Perhaps this is too much attention to detail, but to me it just looks a bit wrong if the flaps are exactly opposite.)

Leave a Reply

My Twitter Stuff

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pick a day!

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 27,777 hits