Hats 115 and 116: Epic Fame


One with a blue fringe, one with a pink brim and red bobble

It's the crazy wool again! Run awayyyyy

Today I managed to catch up a bit on the hats I’ve not been making for the past couple of days. It’s been a bit stressful and tired here, and I’m sorry I’ve been a bit lax. I should do three tomorrow, if I can.

But, today was also exciting! Because I did something I’ve been meaning to do for a while.

It has always bugged me that crafters on Etsy, Folksy, etc etc, undervalue their crafts and then undervalue everyone else’s, too. But it’s not something I’m furious about, because there’s no way anyone can make a living by knitting. People on Rav get really caught up in issues about:

  • Copyright. “What if I design a pattern and then someone else knits it up and sells it? I find that offensive!” (If you wrote a pie recipe and someone made one and sold it, you wouldn’t be owed a penny, so shush.)
  • Undervaluing. “Someone on Etsy (or similar) is selling wristwarmers, custom made, for £/$/€ 5! That barely covers yarn costs. How are we meant to make a living if people aren’t charging sensible money for their time?” (Some people are silly and don’t value themselves, and that’s nothing to do with you, so shush. I have to say this to myself sometimes.)

But the great thing is, neither of these things matter. Because if you were to charge sensible money for your hours of knitting time, no one would buy it. It’s basically impossible to make a living from actual knitting. (Selling your patterns, if you work hard, is possible.) In this particular handmade craft site listing, I point out the time taken to knit a very simple item, convert it to money (a bit over minimum wage), add on extra expenses, and then mark the price at this realistic amount. It’s a pair of stockinette socks, and it’s priced at £208.70. (ETA: There’s a discussion on Rav here, if you’d like to join in.)

The page has had, since 11:30am this morning (about 12 hours ago), 1624 hits. That is, to me, phenomenal. More than four times the number of visitors this blog had when Innocent promoted it. It’s been retweeted on Twitter 30 times that I know of. That is like FAME. None of the people that saw the listing had this blog URL though. 😛

Exciting, hey?

3 Responses to “Hats 115 and 116: Epic Fame”


  1. 1 Marlene February 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    The only time I sell my projects is if for some reason they did not turn out as I imagined and they either don’t fit me or don’t suit me. Then I will sell at cost. If the item is made from top end supplies like handspun or hand dyed fibres then some people would even be outraged to be expected to pay cost.

    I live to create, but I don’t make a living creating.

  2. 2 Lizzie February 25, 2010 at 6:48 am

    hee hee;)

    I always wonder why knitting patterns shan’t be used and the item sold but no one has any qualms with people using a sewing pattern and selling the item.


  1. 1 What our knitting labor is worth… « Unravelling Argyle Trackback on February 16, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Leave a Reply

My Twitter Stuff

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pick a day!

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 28,093 hits