Woolworks… *heart*


A mini pyramid of orange, yellow and pumpkin coloured aran-weight yarn.

Scrummy, eh?

So, I ordered some hand-dyed yarn from Kirsty at Wharfedale Woolworks, because I wanted to make the Jayne Cobb hat for myself and a couple of friends. They’re all very specific shades, so I thought I’d ask if Kirsty could get it spot on. She totally did! At first I thought the shades were a little bit light, and then the colours really grew on me, so I’m very pleased with them now. 🙂

I’ve started the hat, and I can confirm that although the yarn does seem a little bit skinnier than the aran yarns I’m used to (I’m on 5mm needles), it’s got plenty of bounce and it’s soft without being too silky and slippery. I’m glad I bought plenty! I would definitely recommend this yarn. 🙂

ETA: I’ve just finished knitting the Jayne Cobb hat, and here is a photo and a link to the project page on Rav. (You don’t have to be a member to see it.)

Rawr. Sexy, non?

4 Responses to “Woolworks… *heart*”


  1. 1 bekito April 9, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    What a cunning hat! 🙂

  2. 3 Jennifer (youneedathneed) April 11, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Yes, the colors seemed light for me too, but then I found a pic of Adam Baldwin wearing the hat in proper lighting. All the “in-show” pix I’ve seen are in very gloomy mood lighting and it really darkens up how the colors look.

    Need to finish my pom-pom!


Leave a Reply

My Twitter Stuff

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pick a day!

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 28,392 hits